Roger Fry

Franci and I were talking about Fry & Laurie this morning, and while I was out I saw a car number plate 1891 FRY so I googled it: In 1891 Roger Fry went to Italy and then Paris, to study painting. So that’s an Italy, Paris, Painting and Fry sync. Rogers father Edward Fry wrote two books on liverworts, and coincidentally, my old school friend is a scientist specializing in liverworts. And Cadbury’s Chocolate was Rogers uncle! Joseph Storrs Fry (August 6, 1826- July 7, 1913) was a member of the Bristol Fry family and head of the family chocolate firm of J. S. Fry & Sons. He assumed control of the company in 1888 (After World War I, Cadbury Brothers Limited undertook a financial merger with J.S. Fry & Sons Limited.) Joseph Fry (1795–1879)[9], son of the first Joseph Storrs Fry (1769–1835), was the father of: Joseph Storrs Fry II (1826–1913). Headed the chocolate firm after 1886 and very active in the Society of Friends. He never married but was known for his philanthropy. Sir Edward Fry (1827–1918), a judge on the British Court of Appeal. Edward Fry was the father of the art critic and artist Roger Fry and the social reformers, Joan Mary Fry (1862–1955) and Margery Fry (1874–1958) Somehow connected to the above: Joseph Pease reminded me of Robotman and John Fowler reminded me of Ogean. (Rogers brother Albert worked with John Fowler)